Rebel without a cause: Jumpsuits for NYE

This year on NYE, I’ve decided to be a rebel and NOT wear sequins or a dress because of something the trends in the fashion world often overlook — the weather. To ring in 2013, I’ll be on a boat cruise for the evening which calls for coverage as much as chicness. You can imagine counting down to the new year while trying to hold your dress down from flying up in the wind. My solution – a jumpsuit. I’m not into pantsuits and I’d rather dance than shiver the night away wearing a dress. Only one problem, as a tanchi jumpsuits don’t work because you can’t really alter your way into them. The patterns are very particular to the typical 6’0 body making jumpsuits and maxi dresses extremely rare to find, meaning the planning for NYE had to start early.

Mama Sonia and I have share this in common: we don’t like shopping in petite sections because rarely do we like the selections. However, bebe does do petites right. I only wish they would come out with more garments and in more quantities, not to mention, have them in store to try on. I check their petite section regularly and once back in August they came out with a petite jumpsuit that I plan to sport for the NYE occasion. I first bought the jumpsuit in August and ordered a size small. I don’t usually shop in petite sections so I forgot about having to go a size up because petite clothes are true to size. It disappointingly did not fit and by the time I checked the website to order a size up, they were all gone. I regularly check their petite section, though, and one day there it was: one left of a size M Ponte black jumpsuit. I was shocked to say the least. With no hesitation, I used a birthday promo they sent back in September to jump on this jumpsuit. Voila! A jumpsuit that does not require alterations and flatters my tanchi curvy body to rock on NYE with a black boyfriend blazer and really tall heels (a tanchi trick must).

I have been on the lookout for tanchi-friendly jumpsuits since. I scoured the jumpsuit section and came across some finds worth sharing for NYE. The first (pictured left) is a Sweetheart Crop Leg Jumpsuit for $139 that I suspect can be altered for a tanchi body because it is crop leg. The second (pictured in the middle) is a Strapless Sequin Trim Jumpsuit for $149 that is NOT a tanchi friendly garment. The model pictured is 5’9 and as is the legs are scrunched on the bottom. That will mean a tanchi under 5’9 cannot get away with the “bottom scrunchy look” and alterations are highly unlikely. This is because the middle sequin strip would be comprised, not to mention the drapery which is the point of that jumpsuit. I have featured it regardless because it is a beautiful garment that is curvy friendly since it is loose around the panza area and it incorporates sequins in a classy way (perfect for NYE). The last is an affordable lace V-neck Sleeveless Jumpsuit and oh so lovely, running for $82.99 from its original $139 price, and an additional 30% is being applied to already reduced styles for a limited time. Bebe does lace great (good quality lace and used brilliantly on garments) and the v-neck fit is flattering to tanchis and is able to be alterated in the shoulder area. My only peeve with online web sale items at bebe.com is they are final sale. Therefore it’s a gamble with the leg areas as to what alterations can accomplish for fit.

bebejumpsuits

Someday the day will come when bebe or any other designer will make the winning combination for rebelling tanchis: a classy sequin non dress perfect for the NYE occasion. Keep it classy in San Diego this NYE and all other cities for that matter. Happy 2013!

Leave a Reply

