Day 5 The Skimmer: No Mas Scrunchy Bottom Look

As a lover of skinny jeans, I naturally went huntress mode over Gap’s e-blast for the new Gap Skimmer. It claimed to be a new kind of skinny jean with “the must-have denim length” – making reference to “hemming, rolling, and even French cuffing jeans.” I thought alas I’ll have a skinny jean free of “scrunchy bottom look”. Indeed, the Skimmer delivered in providing tanchis an option for days when you want a sharper look instead of the scrunchy bottoms. Upon trying them on, I found they were an ideal length, but unfortunately, not a must-have curvy denim hugger.

The Skimmer comes in wonderful patterns (including polka dots), and bright colors, including neon! Choosing my favorites to try on took me a little bit, but ultimately I settled for blue denim (San Clemente) and neon pink (Neon Flamingo) in sizes 6 and 8 Petites. They run for $69.95 but Gap regularly has promotions, and I snagged them for 30% off with free shipping. Since they are skinny jeans, I styled them with my favorite Dolce Vita tan wedges and my collection of white fem tops. The first is a cap sleeve pleated peplum top in egret from bebe (originally $74 purchased on sale for $43). Love this peplum for its panza coverage and its ability to offset the skinny jean silhouette. The second top, pictured with the neon pants, was purposefully chosen even though it shows my panza. It’s from Forever 21 ($19.80). The pants you’ll see with a more form-fitting top are not the most flattering on me. I pictured both in size 6’s because the 8’s although giving my panza more breathing room, created loose tension overall and causing loss in the fitted look you get from skinny jeans.

It’s a great pant, but like most gap pants they are not my favorite. I still haven’t found a better pant or denim than bebe signature icon skinny jeans ($89). I featured the pant ina previous post, It takes a team to dress this Tanchi: meet the Stylists of bebe. This is because, as you’ll notice in the pictures below, the Skimmer I found wasn’t very slimming, and isn’t as form fitting, especially around my butt. I like a jean to hug my curves.

Although the Skimmer didn’t work for me necessarily, they worked wonderfully for Tara of Mix and Match Fashion. She also styles her Skimmer pants differently than I with blazers and gingham print button ups. I can’t get enough of Tara’s style and for her (as a petite curvy woman), she finds Gap Skimmers are a go-to pant. I highly recommend browsing through her post for styling ideas with the Skimmer.

I have a lot of love for skinny jeans and can’t wait for the skinny jean that someday gets the combo right.

A curve hugger free from “scrunchy bottom look” and available in a neon color! I heart skinny jeans.

gapskimmer

gapskimmer

gapskimmer

gapskimmer

gapskimmer

gapskimmer

gapskimmer

sandiegostyleblogger

Thanks Bianca for the photos!

3 thoughts on “Day 5 The Skimmer: No Mas Scrunchy Bottom Look

  1. Hey! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team of volunteers and
    starting a new project in a community in the same niche.

    Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You have
    done a marvellous job!

Leave a Reply

