Words to live by: Kelly & Kate – it needs to happen.

A letter to Kelly.

Dear Kelly,

Whenever times get tough – I reread Kelly Cutrone mantras from your books, If You Have to Cry, Go Outside: And Other Things Your Mother Never Told You, and Normal Gets you Nowhere.

normalgetsyounowhere

These books, once upon a time, changed my life and continue to be a guiding light as I live an unconventional life – that is I don’t take ish from anyone and I’m not normal – I was blessed with a creative soul and panza that accentuates my tanchiness.

I love rule breakers – especially women in fashion. I live for brands in fashion like Kate Spade that I’ve been following for some time now as I’m prepping to save for my next big purchase. A unique aesthetic – sophisticated yet playful at the same time. Kate Spade recently made popsicles chic by make them into wristletts! I love in a previous collection, “I resolve to break the rule (just a little)” and done in the prettiest and wittiest way possible. Go Kate!

katespadebreaktherules

(#soguilty of this)

I only wish these bags would last long enough in inventory for me to save for one. My goal by the end 2013 is to get one – especially since my everyday bag is about to go into retirement.

My favorite bag thus far…

katespadedorothyparker

That is when I thought, wouldn’t be great if Kelly Cutrone had her own line of Kate Spade handbags with quotes on them! Imagine the streets with bags saying:

Truth be told, I have never seen “bitch” as a bad word. Instead, a reflection of people’s lack of creativity and inability to acknowledge and embrace a powerful woman.”

or

BITCH must be a Babe (or Boss) In Total Control of Herself

And my all time favorite:
Whoever said less is more was right: the less bullshit and frivolity you have in your life, the more attention you have to focus on what is really going on.”

I read a blog perspective by Prabal Gurung, On Women, power and Fashion, in the Huffington Post. The following quote struck a chord with me:

There has always been a strange sense of antagonism between fashion and powerful women, a belief that women must sacrifice femininity to gain power, authority and respect–and that fashion especially is too frivolous a concern for serious women. I have never understood this notion, and I wouldn’t be doing what I do today if I believed it.

The irony is that some of the biggest sources of strength and boldest career moves for me have come from women in the fashion industry – the list includes Kelly Curtrone, Diana Vreeland (Vogue and the Costume Institute of the Metropolitan Museum of Art), Crosby Noricks (Fashion PR), and most recently my boss and mentor Allison Andrews (Fashion Week San Diego).

An ode to Kelly. Thanks for continually inspiring – an extension of what started this blog – long live this blog for tanchis and their panzas everywhere. Ms. Cutrone – gracias.

Sincerely,

La Bella Tanchi

Sharing the wealth with everyone – a little thank you and gratitude for my readers. Here are some of my favorites from the Shades of Kelly Cutrone:

1. “In breaking away from the familiar and the expected, you’ll be forced and privileged to face greater challenges, learn harder lessons, and really get to know yourself. “


2. “The road to your dreams”, is sometimes dark, and it’s sometimes magical, but The Wizard of Oz had one thing right: it’s ultimately about the journey and the characters who accompany you on it, not about the destination.”


3. “Despite the fact that real information is more readily available than ever, we’re receiving less and less of it, and we’re able to actually understand even less than that.”


4. “After all, you can’t truly be happy if you’ve never known pain. You can’t truly feel joy if you’ve never felt heartbreak. You can’t really know what it’s like to be filled unless you’ve been empty.”
5. “Why do I need to send four e-mails to arrange a dinner?”


6. “This was when I first understood that some people really hate women in power. What shocked me then and saddens me still is that many of these people are other women.”


7. “There will be days when, regardless of what you do and how much you love it, you’ll be disgusted and/or exhausted by it.”


8. “The wars in the world are outward manifestations of the war that rages inside each of us; charity and change truly begin at home”


9. “Some people are meant to pursue several dreams in a lifetime—but doing one thing well will open doors for you”


10. “I hate to break it to you, but if you think fur’s glamorous, it doesn’t mean you have fabulous taste; it means you’ve been programmed to be totally numb to suffering.”


11. “I believe that even if a guy tells you he’s separated, divorced, or about to get a divorce, it doesn’t hurt to do a little digging around on the Internet or even pay a few bucks for a background check.”


12. “Nowadays, it saddens me to see that young people are more into drugs and money and fame; these things have completely hijacked youth culture.”


13. “Hundreds of millions of Americans sit around and eat turkeys to celebrate our annihilation of an entire race of people.”


14. “For the record, the law has nothing to do with the truth.”


15. “We spend so much time and money getting our kids all wound up about Santa and the Easter Bunny, making them think these fake apparitions are going to appear and make life magical, when everyday human kindness can really do the same thing.”


16. “We need to figure out the reasons we want a relationship, anyway. In some cases, we just want someone to baby-sit us, because we don’t want to be alone with ourselves.”


17. “It’s about time we stood for something real.”


18. “Do not simply believe what you hear just because you have heard it for a long time.”


19. “The people you love most will hurt or destroy you on some level, whether it’s in the immediate future or years down the road. So will your mother (if she hasn’t already), your fiancé, your husband, and your child. It doesn’t make them horrible, worthless, or unredeemable. It just makes them human beings.”


20. “If you have the bad luck of entering a relationship with someone who’s still in the process of leaving his last one (or hasn’t yet), I suggest you put on your listening ears. What he’s actually about to give you is a list of everything that’s wrong with him.”


21. “A true friend never gets in your way unless you happen to be going down.” —Arnold H. Glasow


22. “From Jesus to Abraham Lincoln to Vincent Van Gogh to Jane Fonda, it’s obvious that people don’t like people who rock the boat or even row the boat, let alone park it in their driveway or on the lawn. They like people who sit quietly in the boat—who have paid in advance for their ticket and don’t say fuck.”


23. “The truth is, is if we keep running away from everyone who hurts or betrays us, we will ultimately end up alone.”


24. “Of course, this is what all the best, most profound teachings do. They kill you.”


25. “Sometimes I just want to chill out, as you probably do too—but I’d also been shown, or made to feel, that there is so much work still to be done on this earth.”

3 thoughts on “Words to live by: Kelly & Kate – it needs to happen.

  1. Ahhhh I love the Kate Spade quips! They are just soooo fun! Good luck in saving up for that bag! I have a few pieces from Kate Spade’s collection and I just cherish the heck out of them 🙂

Leave a Reply

